Life in the Mystery…..

Recently I decided it was time to update our blog title.  ‘Life with the Barnett’s’ has been the title since I began blogging back in 2008 but recently I’ve had some revelation about who we really are as a family.

Two songs have truly inspired me over the years….The first is called Albertine by Brooke Fraser. It was written back in 2007 after the New Zealand musician took a trip to Rwanda.  The lyrics are incredible and tell a story that Adam and I can relate to on a daily basis. Since we started taking trips all over the world, 8 plus years ago, this song has helped put words to the feelings we’ve felt after seeing all the poverty, orphans, and spiritual depravity ‘third world’ countries face.

Half the world lives on less then $2.50 a day. 22,000 children die a day due to poverty. 1 billion people around the world can’t read or even write their name. 2.6 billion people don’t have basic sanitation. 1 in 5 children don’t have access to clean water which accounts for many of the 10.6 million children a year that don’t make it to their 5th birthday.

The specific children Brooke sings about lost their parents in the Rwandan genocide.  She heard their story, saw their faces, and held them in her arms. This lead to lyrics such as:

Now that I have seen, I am responsible
Faith without deeds is dead
Now that I have held you in my own arms, I cannot let go till you are

I will tell the world, I will tell them where I’ve been
I will keep my word
I will tell them Albertine

To watch the music video or at least listen to the song visit this site- http://vimeo.com/4849372

Another more recent song that helped me connect the dots to how I feel about our journey as the Barnett’s is Oceans (Where feet may fail) by Hillsong United. It won worship song of the year for 2014. It was written to portray the story of Peter when Jesus tells him to step out of the boat and walk to him on the water.  

Some of the lyrics are below as well as two link to this song and a music video.

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

So…………how have these songs inspired me? As a follow of Christ. A Christian. A wife. A mother. I’ve chosen to live 100% sold out for our Creator God. What that looks like for us as a family has been interesting to say the least. Adam and I chose from the very beginning of our dating relationship to trust the Lord and follow His plan for our lives, even when people questioned our decisions, for example:

1. Getting married young (21 years old)
2. Going on overseas mission trips
3. Doing infertility treatment to conceive
4. Adopting two orphans (8 & 3 years old)
And so so so much more….

What we’ve learned through the journey as Barnett’s is that ‘Life is a Mystery’. You may be thinking, duh!!! No one know’s the future. But where we feel so blessed is that our Creator does know the future, He does know the best plan for our lives, and if we trust Him through everything He will take care of us!!!!

So the tagline to our blog says, “Our journey of faith as we follow the Spirit of God”. To me it explains the way in which we have chosen to live ‘in this mystery’ of life. Through all the uncertainty of circumstances and daily life decisions we’ve always relied on the Word of God, prayer, and guidance by the Holy Spirit with in us!

Therefore, we have and will find God in the mystery….because we trust Him as we walk on the water. Through all the ups and downs we will keep our eyes on Him and keep walking by faith!

Leave a comment